Skip to main content
Quick Links

We put students first, seek growth, are open to change, do great work together and value differences.

Website Accessibility

2512 George Mason Drive • P.O. Box 6038 Virginia Beach, Virginia 23456-0038   757.263.1000 • 757.263.1240 TDD

School Board Recognitions
February 3, 2015

6A. Virginia Virtual Enterprise Competition
The School Board is pleased to recognize students from the Advanced Technology Center for earning first place at the 2014 Virginia Virtual Enterprise Trade and Business Competition. Please welcome the following team members:

  • Tristan Adams
  • Glenaye Calvin
  • Jia Lin
  • Max McCormack
  • Hannah Peterson; and
  • Steffan Watts

The team is sponsored by ATC business education teacher Kathy Sargent who is unable to join us this evening.

Accepting the plaque on behalf of the ATC is director Mike Taylor.

The ATC student Web design team, "The Hive," recently earned first place in the Virginia Business Plan Defense Division at the Virginia Virtual Enterprise Competition.

The team developed a business plan, launched a company website and offered virtual services related to Web design and development. According to "The Hive" the company will, quote "Have your website buzzing with success!"

From here, the team will go on to compete in the National Virtual Enterprise Competition in New York in April. We wish them the best of luck!

Please join me in congratulating this outstanding team!

6B. 2014 Virginia Counselors Association Guidance Counselor of the Year
The School Board is pleased to recognize April Harmon, guidance department chair at Kempsville High School, for being named the 2014 Guidance Counselor of the Year by the Virginia Counselors Association (VCA).

It seems only fitting to recognize Ms. Harmon at tonight's meeting, because this is also National School Counseling Week.

Each year, the Virginia Counselors Association honors an outstanding member who spends the majority of his/her professional time in counseling and guidance services. Ms. Harmon was selected based on her demonstrated leadership, her commitment to Kempsville High School and the relationships she has built with students while providing guidance services.

Please join me in congratulating this outstanding employee!

6C. The Center for Green Schools 2014 Trailblazing Teacher
The School Board is pleased to recognize Kemps Landing/Old Donation School teacher Melissa Follin /FAL-LIN/ for being selected as a 2014 Trailblazing Teacher by the U.S. Green Building Council's Center for Green Schools.

The Center for Green Schools Trailblazing Teacher Awards are given twice a year to teachers who have demonstrated their commitment to advance eco-literacy and who bring sustainability into the classroom. Melissa Follin /FAL-LIN/ is certainly worthy of this honor.

Students in her third-grade class engage in hands-on work with community partners in oyster restoration, wetlands restoration and entrepreneurship. By growing baby oysters, taking measurement, analyzing data, researching, and transplanting them onto a sanctuary reef, students have grown in their understanding of the three systems involved in sustainability - economics, environmental systems and equity.

In social studies, Ms. Follin's students re-examined Native American culture through the lens of sustainability. Her goal was to transform the curriculum beyond identified objectives to provide yet another platform for students to understand the relationship between people, their culture and their environment.

Please join me in congratulating this outstanding teacher!

6D. National Board Certified Teachers 2014
The School Board is pleased to recognize the following educators for earning certification from the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards:

  • Megan Bishop, gifted resource teacher at Green Run High School
  • Kimberly Ellis, kindergarten teacher, Kingston Elementary School
  • Jennifer Evans, kindergarten teacher at Arrowhead Elementary School
  • Maria Fernandez-Becerra, Spanish teacher, First Colonial High School
  • George Stephen Loder, health and physical education teacher at Kempsville High School
  • Rosanna Mulske, second-grade teacher, Holland Elementary School
  • Amy Pratt, family and consumer science teacher, Kellam High School
  • Bevin Reinen, first-grade teacher at Three Oaks Elementary School (Bevin is also the 2015 Citywide Teacher of the Year.)
  • Sharon Reuyan, eighth-grade teacher, Kempsville Middle School; and
  • Dowler Young, Spanish teacher at Salem High School

Also earning National Board certification but unable to join us this evening are:

  • Jacquelyn Hull a math teacher at First Colonial High School;
  • Gina Parcells, math teacher at First Colonial High School; and
  • Katelyn Woods, seventh-grade teacher, at Plaza Middle School.

National Board Certification is a voluntary certification system, based on high and rigorous standards, for what accomplished teachers should know and be able to do. As a symbol of professional teaching excellence, receiving this advanced teaching credential attests that an instructional staff member has been judged by his or her peers to be an accomplished educator who is able to make sound professional judgments about student learning and who can act effectively on those judgments.

Candidates describe the process as a way to deepen subject-matter knowledge and to become more skillful in daily classroom instruction and student assessment. This year, VBCPS has the pleasure of adding 13 newly National Board Certified Teachers.

Please join me in congratulating these outstanding teachers for their hard work and dedication to their profession!

That concludes the scheduled recognitions for this evening, Mr. Chairman.

Last Modified on Monday, April 23, 2018