Skip to main content
Quick Links

We put students first, seek growth, are open to change, do great work together and value differences.

Website Accessibility

2512 George Mason Drive • P.O. Box 6038 Virginia Beach, Virginia 23456-0038   757.263.1000 • 757.263.1240 TDD

School Board Recognitions
January 20, 2015

6A. 2014 NAPT’s America’s Best School Bus Technician Competition
The School Board is pleased to recognize Donald Ertel, Senior Technician in the Office of Transportation Services for earning second place in a national transportation skills competition.

Each year the National Association for Pupil Transportation holds the America's Best Training & Skills Challenge. Ertel competed in the technician category which included a written exam and hands-on demonstration. His combined score earned Ertel second place in the nation!

It’s great to know that our buses are being maintained by such outstanding technicians. Please join me in congratulating Mr. Ertel on his success and thanking him for the work he does each day to keep our school buses on the road.

6B. VHSL 2014 State Football Champions – Division 6A
The school board room will be more like an aquarium now – as we welcome a huge group of dolphins! The School Board is pleased to recognize the “fin”-tastic football team from Ocean Lakes High School for being named the V-H-S-L 2014 State Football Champions in Division 6A.

This is the largest single team we’ve ever welcomed to the school board room, so it’s going to be tight in here.

Representing the Ocean Lakes Dolphins this evening are:

  • Freeman Adamson
  • Jahque Alleyne
  • Kyle Alston
  • Anthony Atkins
  • Lawrence Baranski
  • Dionte Batts
  • Zachary Bevins
  • De'onte Bradley
  • Isaiah Brown
  • William Brown
  • Tyler Browning
  • Dante Burke
  • John Butler
  • Tahj Capehart
  • Gary Clark
  • Zachary Collins
  • Daquan Cooper
  • Dakare Coston
  • Eric Crosby
  • Kody Cunningham
  • Deiontae Curry
  • Johan De Picker
  • Tyler Desue
  • Hudson Dunaway
  • Philip Evelyn
  • Armandos Fisher
  • Kyle Frederick
  • Nathan Gilbert
  • Andrew Grage
  • Tramayne Griffin
  • James Hamer
  • Cameron Hickman
  • William Higgins
  • Markel Hill
  • Dequan Hopkins
  • William Hubbard
  • Joseph Kirby
  • Noah Knapp
  • Aydan Kraning
  • Jordan Lauzon
  • Jaason Lewis
  • Jontae Lewis
  • Jayden Lilly
  • Desmond Lockhart
  • Thomas Low
  • Dion Martin
  • Thomas Mattiello
  • Tylan Mcelhenie
  • Sebastian Murphy
  • Benjamin Netzel
  • Brenden O'Neil
  • Jaleel Powell
  • Matthew Raetano
  • Fuzell Roston
  • Joseph Sapienza
  • Jahvoni Simmons
  • Justin Smith
  • Jalen Smith
  • Robert Smith
  • Jamal Spence
  • Julien Spence
  • Bradley Taylor
  • Keith Taylor
  • Levonta Taylor
  • Trey Taylor
  • Emmett Tran
  • Kyle Vickery
  • Lovoid White
  • Christian Wilson; and
  • Anthony Womack

Head Coach Chris Scott will accept the team’s plaque, along with coaching staff:

  • Mike Banks
  • Merrell Cook
  • Steve Evans
  • Jonathan Hoggard
  • Jermaine Lauzon
  • Rashad Lilly
  • Antonio McClenny
  • Brandon Monroe
  • Chris Ramey
  • Jose Ramos
  • Scott Romig
  • John Walker
  • Robert Wernikowski
  • Hershel Mack
  • David Lehan
  • Tiara Crumley
  • Nicole Hale
  • Leslie Riccio; and
  • Robert Koch

Ocean Lakes won its first state football title on Saturday, Dec. 13 with an overtime victory over Centreville High School. The state championship capped a perfect 15 and 0 season for the dolphins.

Senior Jaason Lewis rushed for a school-record 267 yards and three touchdowns during the championship game. The final score was 30 to 24.

As if a state championship was not enough, Ocean Lakes was also recently named the winner of U-S-A TODAY’s High School Sports’ Best Football Program Contest. Ocean Lakes beat a field that began with 255 schools nationally and received 247,097 votes in the final round. The school will receive a banner and a $1,000 donation to its athletic department.

Please join me in congratulating these talented student athletes, their dedicated and caring coaches and – of course- their supportive families! Great job dolphins!!!

That concludes the scheduled recognitions for this evening, Mr. Chairman.

Last Modified on Monday, April 23, 2018