Skip to main content
Quick Links

We put students first, seek growth, are open to change, do great work together and value differences.

Website Accessibility

2512 George Mason Drive • P.O. Box 6038 Virginia Beach, Virginia 23456-0038   757.263.1000 • 757.263.1240 TDD

School Board Recognitions
June 17, 2014

6. Student, Employee and Public Awards and Recognitions

6A. Virginia Music Educators Association All Virginia Honors Music Ensembles
Tonight’s awards and recognitions are sure to be music to your ears as we honor members of the All Virginia Band, Orchestra, Chorus and Senior Honors Choir. These students were selected from among their peers throughout the state for inclusion in these prestigious musical groups. These are the highest awards possible for state recognition in music and the students who were selected have distinguished themselves as the top performers in their strand.

Some of these students are not able to attend the meeting tonight because of scheduling conflicts; however, we would like to honor each talented student by reading the names of all those recognized.

Members of the All-State Band and Orchestra include:
From Cox High School:
Cosmos Fristachi
Cassidy Levy

First Colonial High School:
Hannah Stevenson

Governor’s School for the Arts:
Ryan Agola
Noemie Chemali
Yann Chemali
Samantha Hoster
Tyler James
Ryan Tolentino

Ocean Lakes High School:
Brendan Boylan

Princess Anne High School:
Jong Lim
Grace Lui
Sebastien Simko
Stephen Tang
Charlotte Van Schenck
Jonathan Wen

Salem High School:
Corey Martin

Tallwood High School:
Ben Drewry
Alfonso “AJ” Mitchell Rios

Members of the All-State Chorus include:

From Cox High School:
Katherine Harris – who is also a member of the Virginia Senior Honor Choir
Lauren Schroeder

First Colonial High School:
Madison Holloway
Aliya Rainey

Green Run High School:
Blake Johnson

Ocean Lakes High School:
Joy Olds
Devon Williams

Princess Anne High School:
Terence Cooper
Jaron Stevenson

Salem High School:
Tylhar Dawes and Veronica Gruning - who are both also a members of the Virginia Senior Honors Choir
Jada Johnson
Renate Johnson
Karrisa Nichols
Tabitha Sawyer
Garret Walker
Mackinjosh Zumarrage; and

From Tallwood High School:
Dalesia Parker
Also honored as a member of the Senior Honors Choir – Yudi Ko from Ocean Lakes High School

Last, but not least, we are pleased to recognize the following All Virginia Elementary Chorus students:

From Kingston Elementary School:
Joshua Bryant
Megan Elliott
Lauren Hedspeth
Brooke Sinacori
Noah Spain; and
Ellie Wilson

Please join me in congratulating these outstanding student musicians!

6B. Virginia Music Educators Association State Honor Band and Blue Ribbon Schools
Tonight, we also honor three of our school music departments for receiving an Honor Band Award or a Blue Ribbon Distinction from the Virginia Music Educators Association for the 2013-14 school year.

Tallwood High School earned the distinction of Virginia Honor Band from the Virginia Music Educators Association for the 2013-14 school year. Band director Tim Rossettini cannot be here this evening. Instead, Principal Cheryl Woodhouse and Assistant Principal Brian Loehn are here to accept the plaque on behalf of the school.

Tallwood’s band received a superior rating at both the State Marching Band Festival in the fall and the Concert Band Festival in the spring. Selection as a Virginia Honor Band is the highest honor awarded to a high school band in the Commonwealth.

In addition, two Virginia Beach schools are being recognized tonight as Blue Ribbon Schools. In order to qualify, the band, orchestra and chorus at each school received superior ratings at their respective spring district festivals.

Our Blue Ribbon Schools include:

  • Plaza Middle School represented by band director Louis Tarabick, orchestra director Sarah McGhee and choral director Jennifer Harrison.
  • Cox High School represented by band director Mike Lane, orchestra director Aaron Hardwick, and choral director Cynthia Forbes.

Please join me in congratulating these outstanding music programs!

Last Modified on Monday, April 23, 2018