Skip to main content
Quick Links

We put students first, seek growth, are open to change, do great work together and value differences.

Website Accessibility

2512 George Mason Drive • P.O. Box 6038 Virginia Beach, Virginia 23456-0038   757.263.1000 • 757.263.1240 TDD

School Board Recognitions
May 20, 2014

6. Student, Employee and Public Awards and Recognitions
6A. Solve for Tomorrow Environmental Award

The School Board is pleased to recognize the Virginia Beach high school students of the Class of 2015 selected as Brickell Scholars.

From Bayside High School:
Katlyn Logsdon
Josephine Kownack

From Cox High School:
Nicholas Anderson
Amanda Kubicki

From First Colonial High School:
Michelle Brennaman
Emily Knoche

From Green Run High School:
Lawrence Mikel, Jr.

From Kellam High School: Emily Williams

From Kempsville High School:
Allyson Will

From Landstown High School:
Manon-Nicole Cook

From Ocean Lakes High School:
John Costello

From Princess Anne High School:
Sophie Liao
Natasha Dhamankar

From Salem High School:
Nicholas Eda

From Tallwood High School:
Jan Viyar
Cheryl Ngo (KNOW)

Also, being recognized, but not able to join us this evening, are:
Green Run High School’s Veronica Brobst,
Kellam High School’s Alexandra Lehnhard,
Kempsville High School’s Emily Barritt,
Landstown High School’s James Hintzke,
Ocean Lakes High School’s Vashaana Sahadeo and
Salem High School’s Janice Egalla.

The E. E. Brickell Scholarship Program is sponsored by the Virginia Beach Rotary Club. Its purpose is to honor students whose academic performance is exceptional. Selected at the end of their junior year in high school, Brickell Scholars participate in a seminar program and meet with Virginia Beach Rotary Club members on a regular basis throughout their senior year. At the conclusion of their senior year, one member of this impressive group of students is awarded the annual Brickell Scholarship by the Rotary Club.

Please join me in congratulating the Class of 2015 Brickell Scholars.

6B. 2014 Brickell Scholar
That segues nicely to our next recognition. The School Board is pleased to recognize the recipient of the 2014 Brickell Scholarship – Jessie Reeves, a senior at Cox High School.

As the Brickell Scholarship recipient, Jessie will receive a $5,000 award to help her continue her education after graduation. Criteria for this award, which is named after former superintendent Dr. Edward E. Brickell, includes demonstrating an excellent grade point average, enrollment in the most challenging academic courses, displaying evidence of scholarly work outside of the regular school curriculum, and achievement of the highest scores on standardized testing. In fact, being a Brickell Scholar is familiar territory for Jessie. As you will recall, she was first introduced to our Board last year as a member of the 2013-2014 class of Brickell Scholars.

Without question, Jessie is committed to academic and personal excellence in all areas. She is an AP Scholar with Distinction, a National Merit Commended Scholar, a National Honor Society Executive Board Member, and a member of the French Language, Mathematics, Science and English honor societies. Besides being an outstanding student, Jessie is a community spirited individual as well. She is an active member in her church, serving as president of her youth group. Jessie plans to attend Cornell University in the fall. She was presented with this Brickell scholarship last week at a dinner hosted by the Virginia Beach Rotary Club.

Please join me in congratulating this outstanding student and the 2014 Brickell Scholarship recipient!

6C. Future Teacher Awards
The School Board is pleased to recognize the 2014 Virginia Beach City Public Schools Future Teacher Award recipients. The purpose of the award is to honor and reward outstanding students who have indicated their intent to pursue teaching as a career.

From Bayside High School:
Briana Smith
Celeste Raub

From Cox High School:
Laura Papp
Robyn McNamara

From First Colonial High School:
Madison King
Karen Simonic

From Green Run High School:
Samantha Cozzolino

From Kellam High School
Marissa Barrios
Thea Fraser

From Kempsville High School:
Anthony Diaz
Jaclyn Cordero

From Landstown High School:
Mikalah Lake
Giavanni Wiley-Miller

From Ocean Lakes High School:
Caitlin Smith
Allyson Moreland

From Princess Anne High School:
Adrian Forrest
Ellie Gavin

From Salem High School:
Kaecy Lyne Gibaud

From Tallwood High School:
Katherine Becker

From the Technical and Career Education Center:
Heather Davis

The VBCPS Future Teacher Awards were instituted in 2008 by Superintendent Dr. James G. Merrill and are administered through the Department of Human Resources. Each year, any principal whose school has an active Virginia Teachers for Tomorrow or Early Childhood Education program may select up to two award recipients. In addition to being honored by the School Board this evening, these award recipients will receive a provisional contract to become a VBCPS teacher upon completion of a degree in an approved teacher education program.

And speaking of those provisional contracts, the School Board is pleased to recognize two Future Teacher Award recipients who have returned to work in our school division.

Please welcome:
Ms. Natalie Massey, an eighth-grade teacher at Kempsville Middle School; and
Ms. Kara Kimball, English teacher at Kempsville High School.

Both of these outstanding educators are completing their first year as teachers. They received the Future Teacher Awards and provisional contracts back in 2009. We are grateful they have chosen to return to Virginia Beach. We hope many of tonight’s award winners will do the same!

Please join me in congratulating these outstanding teachers and students!

6D. 2015 VBCPS Citywide Teacher of the Year
And finally tonight, the School Board is pleased to recognize Bevin Reinen, a first-grade and general education inclusion teacher at Three Oaks Elementary School as the 2015 Virginia Beach City Public Schools Citywide Teacher of the Year.

Bevin goes above and beyond to work with her students and research the best practices available to help develop them as learners. She serves as an after-school tutor for students performing below grade level expectations and is working to achieve National Board Certification as an Early Childhood Generalist. Reinen also founded, an educational website that focuses on the academic, social and emotional growth of early childhood learners.

She holds a bachelor’s degree in English from Mary Washington College and a master’s degree in Early Childhood Education from Old Dominion University. She has been teaching for nine years, eight of which have been with VBCPS.

As the division’s Citywide Teacher of the Year, Bevin will now be considered for regional and statewide honors. We wish her the best of luck.

Please join me in congratulating our outstanding 2015 VBCPS Citywide Teacher of the Year – Bevin Reinen!

That concludes our recognitions for this evening, Mr. Chairman.

Last Modified on Monday, April 23, 2018