Skip to main content
Quick Links

We put students first, seek growth, are open to change, do great work together and value differences.

Website Accessibility

2512 George Mason Drive • P.O. Box 6038 Virginia Beach, Virginia 23456-0038   757.263.1000 • 757.263.1240 TDD

School Board Recognitions
February 5, 2013

6. Student, Employee, and Public Awards and Recognitions
6A. 2012 National Board Certified Teachers

The School Board is pleased to recognize the following teachers for earning national board certification from the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS).

  • Amy Abbott, Gifted Resource, Great Neck Middle School
  • David Abbott, Health & PE, Green Run High School
  • Dorothy Baker, Math, Ocean Lakes High School
  • Reid Baker, English, Salem Middle School
  • Ann Barritt, English as a Second Language, Linkhorn Park Elementary School
  • Marie Finnegan-Copen, English, Salem High School
  • Dorothy Neal, Business Education, Ocean Lakes High School
  • Jacqueline Redhage, English as a Second Language, Kingston Elementary School
  • Stephanie Yankes, Library Media Specialist, Great Neck Middle School

Offered by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards, National Board Certification is a voluntary certification system based on high and rigorous standards for what accomplished teachers should know and be able to do. As a symbol of professional teaching excellence, receiving this advanced teaching credential attests that an instructional staff member has been judged by his or her peers to be an accomplished educator, to make sound professional judgments about students' learning, and to act effectively on those judgments. Candidates describe the process as a way to deepen subject-matter knowledge and to become more skillful in daily classroom instruction and student assessment, ultimately resulting in improved student learning. This year, VBCPS has the pleasure of honoring nine new National Board Certified Teachers. In total, 117 VBCPS staff members have earned this distinction.

Please join me in congratulating these outstanding teachers!

Mr. Chairman, this concludes our scheduled recognitions for this evening.

Last Modified on Monday, April 23, 2018