Skip to main content
Quick Links

We put students first, seek growth, are open to change, do great work together and value differences.

Website Accessibility

2512 George Mason Drive • P.O. Box 6038 Virginia Beach, Virginia 23456-0038   757.263.1000 • 757.263.1240 TDD

Policies and Regulations

School Board of the City of Virginia Beach
Regulation 4-45.1

PERSONNEL

Sick Leave

These procedures will regulate sick leave for all employees.

  1. Full time employees are provided the hourly equivalent of one day of sick leave for each month in their contract, e.g., 10-month employees earn the hourly equivalent of 10 days, 11-month employees earn the hourly equivalent of 11 days, and 12-month employees earn the hourly equivalent of 12 days. This leave is provided to employees at the beginning of their contract. Employees who are hired after the beginning of the contract will receive a prorated amount of sick leave. Part-time employees will earn sick leave on a prorated basis. There will be no limit to the number of sick leave hours an employee may accumulate. An employee may access the equivalent of the total number of hours of anticipated sick leave for a given year (July 1 through June 30). In the event an employee, as specified in this policy, terminates employment before such sick leave hours are earned, the employee will make proper monetary refund to the School Board, such refund to be deducted from the employee's final paycheck.

    When an employee has a “contagious illness” or is otherwise unable to perform the functions of his or her job due to personal illness, the employee may be sent home by the supervisor. However, matters involving an employee who substantially interferes with or interrupts the work environment due to a personal illness shall be handled as a disciplinary matter. An employee who is sent home may opt to use accrued sick, annual, or personal reasons leave to account for his or her time out of the workplace. The employee may return to work after recovering from the illness or after obtaining a doctor’s note certifying that the employee may return to work. A doctor’s note will be required after an employee is absent for five (5) consecutive days due to illness. The School Board shall at all times retain the right to designate an employee’s leave as Family Medical Leave in accordance with the Family and Medical Leave Act as specified in Section C.

  2. Sick leave will be allowed for personal or family illness, quarantine, death in family, pregnancy, or any other reason which makes the employee eligible for leave under The Family and Medical Leave Act as specified in Section C. Funeral leave is governed in Regulation 4-46.1. The family of the employee will be interpreted to include parents, wife, husband, children, brother, sister, step-parents, step-children, step-brother, step-sister, mother-in-law, father-in-law, sister-in-law, brother-in-law, son-in-law, daughter-in-law, foster parents, foster children, grandparents, and grandchildren of the employee and/or his spouse, or any relative living in the household of the employee.

  3. Sick leave or leave without pay will be allowed during an employee's pregnancy and for the period of time during and after childbirth under the following conditions:

    1. That such continued employment is approved in writing by her physician and   that Form PERS-MED-1 Form is submitted to the Department of Human Resources;

    2. For those hours absent from duty for visits to a doctor for prenatal care;

    3. For those hours for which the employee's doctor has specified, in writing, that the employee is physically unable to perform her duties, a physician's report (PERS-MED-1 Form) will be required to certify the employee's eligibility for use of sick leave; and

    4. Sick leave will be allowed for use by a male employee to assist his spouse to visit a doctor for prenatal care, for entry into the hospital for delivery, and for release from the hospital or in accordance with the Family and Medical Leave Act.

    If an employee has no accrued leave, leave without pay will be allowed for pregnancy conditions as described above.

  4. Reason(s) for the use of sick leave may be required when a pattern of frequent absence develops. A doctor’s note will be required of an employee who is absent for five (5) or more consecutive work days, when a supervisor otherwise required a doctor’s note, or when a pattern of frequent absence develops.
  5. The Virginia Beach School System will accept the transfer of accumulated sick leave for teachers up to the hourly equivalent of ninety (90) days from other Virginia school divisions. It is the responsibility of the individual to affect the transfer of sick leave into the Virginia Beach School Division.
  6. All accumulated sick leave will expire if an employee fails to return to employment with the Virginia Beach School Division within ten (10) years of the employee's termination.
  7. Employees, as specified in this regulation, shall be entitled to use sick leave in one-half hour increments after the minimum is satisfied. Effective July 1, 2006, the minimum amount of leave taken for all employees must equal one (1) hour. Thereafter, leave may be used in one-half hour increments.
  8. Sick leave shall be credited to Family Medical Leave as described in the Family Medical Leave Act of 1993 if the event qualifies as a Family Medical Leave event.

Approved by Superintendent: July 16, 1991
Revised by Superintendent: September 15, 1992
Revised by Superintendent: January 18, 1994
Revised by Superintendent: January 18, 1998
Revised by Superintendent: December 13, 2002
Revised by Superintendent: January 14, 2005
Revised by Superintendent: March 8, 2006