Skip to main content
Quick Links
We put students first, seek growth, are open to change, do great work together and value differences.
2512 George Mason Drive • P.O. Box 6038 Virginia Beach, Virginia 23456-0038   757.263.1000 • 757.263.1240 TDD

Administration

Dr. Aaron Spence

Dr. Aaron C. Spence
Superintendent
Phone: 757.263.1007

Ask The Superintendent
Dr. Marc Bergin

Dr. Marc Bergin
Chief of Staff
Phone: 757.263.1007
marc.bergin@vbschools.com

 

Chief Officers

 
Dr. Amy Cashwell Farrell E. Hanzaker Dale R. Holt Ramesh K. Kapoor
Dr. Amy Cashwell
Chief Academic Officer
for Teaching and Learning
Phone: 757.263.1419
amy.cashwell@vbschools.com
Farrell E. Hanzaker
Chief Financial Officer
Phone: 757.263.1066
farrell.hanzaker@vbschools.com
Dale R. Holt
Chief Operations Officer
for Division Services
Phone: 757.263.1040
dale.holt@vbschools.com
Ramesh K. Kapoor
Chief Information Officer
Phone: 757.263.1100
ramesh.kapoor@vbschools.com
 
 
John A. Mirra Kathleen O'Hara Dr. Donald E. Robertson Rashard Wright
John A. Mirra
Chief Human Resources Officer
Phone: 757.263.1133
john.mirra@vbschools.com
Eileen Cox
Chief Media and
Communications Officer
Phone: 757.263.1075
eileen.cox@vbschools.com
Dr. Donald E. Robertson
Chief Strategy and
Innovation Officer
Phone: 757.263.1109
donald.robertson@vbschools.com
Rashard J. Wright
Chief Schools Officer
Phone: 757.263.1088
rashard.wright@vbschools.com
 

Directors

 
Cristina Alsop
Tony Arnold
Tony Arnold
Dr. Lisa Banicky
Cristina Alsop
Director of Title I
Phone: 757.263.1070
cristina.alsop@vbschools.com
Larry E. Ames
Director of Custodial Services
Phone: 757.263.2600
larry.ames@vbschools.com
Tony Arnold
Executive Director of Facilities Services
Phone: 757.263.1090
anthony.arnold@vbschools.com
Dr. Lisa Banicky
Director for Innovation
and Strategic Planning
Phone: 757.263.1109
lisa.banicky@vbschools.com
 
 
Brian Baxter Kevin Beardsley Adrian Day Dr. Thomas E. Ferrell, Jr.
Brian Baxter
Director of Distribution Services
Phone: 757.263.2470
brian.baxter@vbschools.com
Kevin Beardsley
Director of Purchasing Services
Phone: 757.263.1153
kevin.beardsley@vbschools.com
Adrian Day
Director of Student Support Services
Phone: 757.263.1980
adrian.day@vbschools.com
Dr. Thomas E. Ferrell, Jr.
Director of Administrator
Learning and Leadership
Phone: 757.263.6973
thomas.ferrelljr@vbschools.com
 
 
Dr. Veleka Gatling Brenda Harris Alveta Mitchell Dr. Leslie Hughes
Dr. Veleka Gatling
Executive Director for the Office of Programs for Exceptional Children
Phone: 757.263.1405
veleka.gatling@vbschools.com
Janene Gorham
Director of Teacher
Learning and Leadership
Phone: 757.263.6973
janene.gorham@vbschools.com
Dr. Alveta J. Green
Executive Director for the Office of Student Support Services
Phone: 757.263.1980
alveta.green@vbschools.com
Dr. Lesley Hughes
Executive Director for
Elementary Teaching and Learning
Phone: 757.263.1419
lesley.hughes@vbschools.com
 
 
Heidi Janicki William Johnsen Daniel Keever Tracy Lagatta
Dr. Heidi Janicki
Director of Research
and Evaluation
Phone: 757.263.1199
heidi.janicki@vbschools.com
William Johnsen
Director of Instructional Technology
Phone: 757.263.1100
william.johnsen@vbschools.com
Daniel Keever
Senior Executive Director
of High Schools
Phone: 757.263.1088
daniel.keever@vbschools.com
Tracy Lagatta
Director for Testing
Phone: 757.263.1030
tracy.lagatta@vbschools.com
 
 
Shirann C. Lewis Sara L. Lockett Michael McGee Lauren Nolasco
Shirann C. Lewis
Senior Executive Director
of Elementary Schools
Phone: 757.263.1088
shirann.lewis@vbschools.com
Dr. Sara L. Lockett
Director of Technical and
Career Education
Phone: 757.648.6180
sara.lockett@VBSchools.com
Michael McGee
Director of Student Leadership
Phone: 757.263.2020
mike.mcgee@vbschools.com
Lauren Nolasco
Director of Communications
Phone: 757.263.1075
lauren.nolasco@vbschools.com
 
 
Jay Cottaus Dr. LaQuiche Parrott Crystal M. Pate Neha Patel
David Pace
Acting Director of Transportation
Phone: 757.263.2928
david.pace@vbschools.com
Dr. LaQuiche Parrott
Director of Opportunity
& Achievement
Phone: 757.263.1088
laquiche.parrott@vbschools.com
Crystal M. Pate
Director of Business Services
Phone: 757.263.1745
crystal.pate@vbschools.com
Neha Patel
Director of Technology
Phone: 757.263.1100
neha.patel@vbschools.com
 
 
Bernard Platt Dr. James Pohl Richard Ponti Dr. Terrie Pyeatt
Bernard P. Platt
Director of Employment Services
Phone: 757.263.1133
bernard.platt@VBSchools.com
Dr. James Pohl
Executive Director for Secondary
Teaching and Learning
Phone: 757.263.1446
james.pohl@vbschools.com
Richard M. Ponti
Director of Safety
and Loss Control
Phone: 757.263.2450
richard.ponti@vbschools.com
Terrie Pyeatt
Director of Internal Audit
Phone: 757.263.1140
terrie.pyeatt@vbschools.com
 
 
Dr. Amber Rach Edith L. Rogan John Smith Edith L. Rogan
Dr. Amber Rach
Director of Community Engagement
Phone: 757.263.1936
amber.rach@vbschools.com
Edie L. Rogan
Director of Employee Relations
Phone: 757.263.1046
edie.rogan@vbschools.com
Dr. John Smith
Director of Food Services
Phone: 757.263.1101
john.smith@vbschools.com
Tania Sotomayor
Director of Compliance and Special Education Services
Phone: 757.263.2400
tania.sotomayor@vbschools.com
 
 
Kathleen Starr Sean Walker Cheryl Woodhouse Eric Woodhouse
Kathleen Starr
Director of Elementary Schools
Phone: 757.263.1088
kathleen.starr@vbschools.com
Sean Walker
Director of Elementary Schools
Phone: 757.263.1088
sean.walker@vbschools.com
Cheryl Woodhouse
Senior Executive Director
of Middle Schools
Phone: 757.263.1088
cheryl.woodhouse@vbschools.com
Eric Woodhouse
Director of School Plant
Phone: 757.263.2500
eric.woodhouse@vbschools.com
Kathleen Starr Dr. Daisy Wood Cheryl Woodhouse
Kathleen Starr
Director of Elementary Schools
Phone: 757.263.1088
james.pohl@vbschools.com
Dr. Daisy Wood
Director of the Office of
Programs for Exceptional Children
Phone: 757.263.2400
james.pohl@vbschools.com
Cheryl Woodhouse
Executive Director of Middle Schools
Phone: 757.263.1088
james.pohl@vbschools.com
 
 

Last Modified on Wednesday, September 6, 2017