Skip to main content
Quick Links

We put students first, seek growth, are open to change, do great work together and value differences.

Website Accessibility

2512 George Mason Drive • P.O. Box 6038 Virginia Beach, Virginia 23456-0038   757.263.1000 • 757.263.1240 TDD

Sustainable Schools - Environmental/Sustainability Awards

2008-2009 Sustainable School Recognition Award

Fifteen schools within the division were selected as recipients of the Sustainable School Recognition Award for the 2008-2009 school year. The Sustainable School Recognition Award was developed in 2008 to recognize schools within the division that are taking an active role in promoting environmental sustainability. This award is also intended to highlight the importance of increasing student awareness regarding the fragile relationship between man and nature and inspire students, staff, and the community to promote environmental sustainability.

To be considered for the Sustainable School Recognition Award schools must meet three of the following five requirements:

  1. Participate in a cell phone recycling program.
  2. Organize and maintain an active environmental club.
  3. Earn the designation of a Pearl School through the
    Lynnhaven River Project.
  4. Establish an outdoor teaching garden
  5. Verify a 25% school participation rate during the Earth Day celebration at Mount Trashmore.

Recipients of the 2008-2009 Sustainable School Recognition Award are:

Alanton Elementary
Ocean Lakes Elementary
Centerville Elementary
Pembroke Elementary
John B. Dey Elementary
Red Mill Elementary
Fairfield Elementary
Woodstock Elementary
Glenwood Elementary
Landstown Middle
King’s Grant Elementary
Lynnhaven Middle
Kemps Landing Magnet
First Colonial High
New Castle Elementary



Last Modified on Wednesday, April 19, 2017